catholci answers forum 4 dummies

pr 29, ’14, 4:28 pm
Junior Member
Prayer Warrior
Join Date: March 17, 2014
Posts: 292
Religion: Orthodox (Antiochian)
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

These psychics and mediums use a technique called “cold reading”. They are frauds.

More information can be found at these links:
Cold Reading
James Randi

__________________

Let nothing disturb you,
Let nothing frighten you,
All things are passing;
God only is changeless.
Patience gains all things.
Who has God wants nothing.
God alone suffices.

St. Teresa of Avila

Reply With Quote
  #4
Old Apr 29, ’14, 4:28 pm
Regular Member
Join Date: May 8, 2008
Posts: 1,265
Religion: catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

I agree, but my wife watches it anyway. She knows church teaching, but still watches. I am not her master. All I can do is reiterate Church Teaching, which is what I do. The rest is her choice. I will pray for her, without telling her, to stop watching it. That is the best I can do.
__________________
” Friends don’t let friends drive themselves to Hell. ”
Reply With Quote
  #5
Old Apr 29, ’14, 4:35 pm
Trial Membership
Join Date: April 29, 2014
Posts: 1
Religion: Roman Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

I’ve seen Theresa Caputo and her husband at the Saturday vigil mass several times. She and her husband also receive Holy Communion.

I’m sure the priest know who she is and what she does.

I have a somewhat hard time reconciling the fact that the priest have no qualms about what she does… as she misleads thousands of watchers yet she receives communion.

Reply With Quote
  #6
Old Apr 29, ’14, 4:38 pm
Regular Member
Join Date: August 2, 2013
Posts: 1,135
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Quote:
Originally Posted by traillius View Post
I agree, but my wife watches it anyway. She knows church teaching, but still watches. I am not her master. All I can do is reiterate Church Teaching, which is what I do. The rest is her choice. I will pray for her, without telling her, to stop watching it. That is the best I can do.

I believe you have the right to order her not to watch something that is not good for her soul. It could b considered your duty as a good husband. If she does not obey you, you know at least the respect in which she holds you. I expect a ton of bricks to fall on me from other posters but so be it.

Reply With Quote
  #7
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:05 pm
Junior Member
Join Date: September 30, 2007
Posts: 326
Religion: Catholic
Unhappy Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

You should continue to encourage her to avoid watching these types of shows. I think it would be better to give solid reasons (catechism, Women of Grace info, etc) rather than to demand that she stops. These shows are a bunch of lies and deceptions preying on people who mourn their deceased loved ones. At best it is a fraud and at worst it is a demonic display. Pray for your dear wife and also pray for Theresa Caputo.
I know how hard it is to convince people who find this junk fascinating because I have had very little success in steering friends away from it. They find it all so fascinating
Reply With Quote
  #8
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:16 pm
laircy's Avatar
Regular Member
Join Date: January 23, 2011
Posts: 649
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Quote:
Originally Posted by traillius View Post
Have you seen this show. Here are my thoughts.
Sometimes she seems to say things she couldn’t have known. So is she sincere, or a scammer? And if its the former, how does she get the info? God wouldn’t give her this knowledge, I think, since he made that a bad thing in both the new and old testaments.And if its not from God, why do the spirits deliver messages that apparently provide hope?

Edit: My wife is watching the show on reruns, and theresa just said that some lady’s daughter soul was reincarnated into the lady’s granddaughter. creepy, false, and against the teaching of the church Theresa claims to follow, the RCC.

They don’t provide real hope. They provide confusion and a false assurance that everyone “is okay” after they die. Feeds in to complacency. Not to judge anyone’s specific soul, but can we really think that every average person is a saint? And on this show (which I have unfortunately seen because my mother loves it, despite my protests ugh) the “spirits” always say sketchy things, really, the ONE message you want to tell your family member is that you’re “with them”? Really! Nothing about God. Nothing about changing your life. Even NDEs, which I am still a bit skeptical about, are more realistic than that. And oh, there’s a hat in your drawer. That’s how you know I’m “real”! Take good care of it for me will ya… They all seem to have a similar personality, too… just like the woman.

She is either making it up or it is demonic. And she is using it to emotionally manipulate people and lead them into confusion. There is nothing good or hopeful about this show.

Reply With Quote
  #9
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:36 pm
marywarfield's Avatar
Regular Member
Join Date: December 29, 2012
Posts: 1,368
Religion: Roman Catholic. T.O.C. (Ancient)
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTK12 View Post
I’ve seen Theresa Caputo and her husband at the Saturday vigil mass several times. She and her husband also receive Holy Communion.

I’m sure the priest know who she is and what she does.

I have a somewhat hard time reconciling the fact that the priest have no qualms about what she does… as she misleads thousands of watchers yet she receives communion.

Has anyone in the parish confronted her or the priest
about the possible problems with this?

__________________
“Your state is not of itself a barrier to holiness.
For it is not the place nor the occupation that sanctifies
a man; it is the man who must sanctify the place
and the occupation.” Abbé d’Herouville.

Start With:
http://www.agapebiblestudy.com/About…le%20Study.htm

Reply With Quote
  #10
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:37 pm
Regular Member
Join Date: August 3, 2012
Posts: 2,350
Religion: raised catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

I think ALL the co called mediums on TV are fake, the answers they provide could come from a number of sources, and I believe the whole thing is scripted, like everything else on TV, its sad that so many people fall for it. She is still able to attend mass and receive communion because she is not truly a medium, she is an entertainer, nothing more, nothing less.

BUT, there are some REAL mediums out there, I know of one online that does readings for people and does not ask for money, it is amazing all that she knows, I have asked her something in the past and she was dead right, all I did was send her the question in an email. Ive also read many of her other readings, most people ask her about aliens, UFOs, and odd things that go on here on earth, she has been right about everything Ive seen her predict, however none of it is inherently evil or good, its all basically neutral.

I think its strange some people, like the above, seem to be given a gift, I know of no one else that can do this, I know I cant…but if the evil spirits truly wanted to corrupt as many people as possible, why wouldnt there be more mediums and people with psychic powers?

Reply With Quote
  #11
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:39 pm
Cricket2's Avatar
Regular Member
Join Date: November 6, 2013
Posts: 2,133
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTK12 View Post
I’ve seen Theresa Caputo and her husband at the Saturday vigil mass several times. She and her husband also receive Holy Communion.

I’m sure the priest know who she is and what she does.

I have a somewhat hard time reconciling the fact that the priest have no qualms about what she does… as she misleads thousands of watchers yet she receives communion.

Here is my take: I do believe there are people who can act as mediums and that are psychic. I have no choice as my paternal grandmother was psychic, as is my father, my sister and even myself on occasion.

Now this does not mean I go around telling people their future. This is wrong. I mean I can dream about a plane crashing and then it will happen a month later, or my grandmother often dreamed about someone dying, how they would die, where and when–and this would happen. My father does the same thing.

I don’t think these events are sinful in nature. I think the sin comes in when we misuse this ability to confuse others, or to take on an attitude of power and ability we don’t have. (Fortune tellers.) Perhaps Caputo’s priest is making a pastoral decision that amounts to believing she means no harm, and that she does have some sort of spiritual gift.

What about Cure’ d’Ares or Padre Pio knowing peoples sins even before they confessed? What about bi-location in Padre Pio’s case? Levitation? (Often thought to be magic or of the dark arts.) How do we explain all of this, or can we?

I am not too worried about Theresa Caputo.

Reply With Quote
  #12
Old Apr 29, ’14, 5:54 pm
Junior Member
Join Date: December 15, 2013
Posts: 234
Religion: Roman Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Wow. She is clearly receiving the Eucharist unworthily!

As to any reality show, a lot of what goes on is staged and fake. I know a friend of a friend who knows what goes on with that storage space auctioning show. The producers put in valuable stuff in the storage space in order to make the show interesting. That’s 1 example. All reality shows are fake.

Reply With Quote
Leave a Reply

