catholic answers forum 4 dummies

Thread Tools Search Thread Rate Thread Display
  #16   Report this Post to the Moderator
Old May 3, ’14, 1:09 am
Regular Member
Join Date: September 22, 2008
Posts: 3,449
Religion: Catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricket2 View Post
Here is my take: I do believe there are people who can act as mediums and that are psychic. I have no choice as my paternal grandmother was psychic, as is my father, my sister and even myself on occasion.

Now this does not mean I go around telling people their future. This is wrong. I mean I can dream about a plane crashing and then it will happen a month later, or my grandmother often dreamed about someone dying, how they would die, where and when–and this would happen. My father does the same thing.

I don’t think these events are sinful in nature. I think the sin comes in when we misuse this ability to confuse others, or to take on an attitude of power and ability we don’t have. (Fortune tellers.) Perhaps Caputo’s priest is making a pastoral decision that amounts to believing she means no harm, and that she does have some sort of spiritual gift.

What about Cure’ d’Ares or Padre Pio knowing peoples sins even before they confessed? What about bi-location in Padre Pio’s case? Levitation? (Often thought to be magic or of the dark arts.) How do we explain all of this, or can we?

I am not too worried about Theresa Caputo.

I agree. I’ve been told things by psychics that they’d have no way of knowing. I don’t structure my life around running to one every time there is a decision to be made. I think some people have gifts and if they’re used for good then there isn’t a problem.

I also relate the gift with that of Simon, the elderly man who met the Holy Family at the temple and the widowed lady who did the same. Both told things to Mary and Joseph about Jesus and the future. I’d say Simon was psychic. And he didn’t hesitate telling Mary that a sword would pierce her heart. I would not have wanted to have heard that.

Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message
  #17   Report this Post to the Moderator
Unread Today, 11:23 am
Trial Membership
Join Date: June 24, 2014
Posts: 1
Religion: catholic
Default Re: Long Island Medium Theresa Caputo

[quote=Cricket2;11945663]Here is my take: I do believe there are people who can act as mediums and that are psychic. I have no choice as my paternal grandmother was psychic, as is my father, my sister and even myself on occasion.

Now this does not mean I go around telling people their future. This is wrong. I mean I can dream about a plane crashing and then it will happen a month later, or my grandmother often dreamed about someone dying, how they would die, where and when–and this would happen. My father does the same thing.

i don’t know if you are familiar with this teaching– and understanding

The Mystery of Prophets & Psychics – John Paul Jackson

http://youtu.be/nb1u1ju0ROU

When asked, most Christians would say they believe the Bible.

But when probed further, and asked specifically about the wild, supernatural events that took place throughout the Old and New Testaments—those things—can they be taken literally.

That’s usually when the words symbolism, or allegory, or metaphorical get thrown around to avoid having to actually say ‘that’s too strange to be true.’

Did the Red Sea really part to allow the Jews to escape the Egyptians?

Did one angel really strike down armies of men?

Did Jesus really walk on water, turn water into wine, be born of a virgin, feed 5000 with a just few baskets of food…did those things really happen?

Or were they just metaphors?

Backed into a corner with the reality that the Bible actually says these things happened, some Christians prefer to draw a line in the sand and say that was then, in Bible times, and this is now.

Today things are different. We live in a different world.

God doesn’t need to use supernatural exploits to accomplish His plan—it’s already been accomplished.
Jesus put an end to all of that craziness

. God no longer needs to speak to us through a dream we have at night, or show us things in a vision, or send angels to help us, protect us, or deliver important instructions. Those things ended long ago.

And it’s a good thing too, because those things are messy and hard to explain. Mysteries are for Hollywood.

Edit/Delete Message
Leave a Reply

